EL PUEBLO DEL SOL - Original Soundtrack by Lee Holdridge

EL PUEBLO DEL SOL - Original Soundtrack by Lee Holdridge

Regular price $15.95 Sale


Dragon’s Domain Records, to be distributed through buysoundtrax.com, presents the soundtrack release of EL PUEBLO DEL SOL, featuring music composed by Lee Holdridge (THE BEASTMASTER, JONATHAN LIVINGSTON SEAGULL, SPLASH, BEAUTY AND THE BEAST), performed by the London Symphony Orchestra.  EL PUEBLO DEL SOL, a 1983 documentary film, captures not only the visual delights of Mexico but also grasps the day-to-day life of a people in a land filled with future promise. 

In September 1980, the directors of the National Endowment for Social Works (FON-APAS) presented a proposal to its chairperson, the First Lady of Mexico, Mrs. Carmen Romano de López Portillo. The proposal was to produce the inaugural film for the Tijuana Cultural Center’s Omnitheatre, then in the first stages of construction. Approval was given and shooting on the film started in May, 1981 using the Omnimax format: 70MM for horizontal projection onto a dome screen. This format is commonly known today as IMAX dome. 

Upon completion of the film, the producers chose to commission an original score. Producer Ricardo Sanchez Guadarrama approached Lee Holdridge to score the film in the fall of 1981. Upon first seeing EL PUEBLO DEL SOL, Holdridge felt that the score should be approached as a dramatic symphonic tone poem for the orchestra that would capture the natural beauty, history and traditions of Mexico. 

Lee Holdridge was born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti in 1944. He spent his early years in Costa Rica, beginning music studies on the violin at the age of ten with Hugo Mariani, then the conductor of the National Symphony Orchestra of Costa Rica. Later, Holdridge moved to New York to continue his music studies and begin his professional career as a composer. Holdridge’s successes in New York came to the attention of Neil Diamond who brought Holdridge to Los Angeles to write arrangements for his forthcoming albums. A string of Gold and Platinum hits followed, which led to Diamond and Holdridge collaborating on the film score for JONATHAN LIVINGSTON SEAGULL. Since that time, Holdridge has scored numerous film such as THE BEASTMASTER, SPLASH, BIG BUSINESS, MR. MOM, MICKI & MAUDE, 16 DAYS OF GLORY, SYLVESTER, A TIGER’S TALE, OLD GRINGO, PASTIME and BROTHERS AT WAR. His television work include MOONLIGHTING, BEAUTY AND THE BEAST, the complete eight hour remake of EAST OF EDEN, THE TENTH MAN, DREAMER OF OZ, Hallmark Hall Of Fame’s ONE AGAINST THE WIND and THE STORY LADY. Lee also began a very successful collaboration with Moriah Films, the film division of the Simon Wiesenthal Center, with the Academy Award winning documentary feature film THE LONG WAY HOME. In addition to his film career, Mr. Holdridge has had an extensive repertoire of concert works performed and recorded. He has also worked with many major recording artists having written, arranged and conducted for Placido Domingo, Barbra Streisand, Brian May of Queen, Stevie Wonder, Neil Diamond, John Denver, Neil Sedaka, Daniel Rodriguez, Al Jarreau, Dionne Warwick, Diana Ross, Natalie Cole, Jane Oliver and many others.

Previously released on compact disc by Bay Cities Records in the early 1990s and now very scarce, Dragon’s Domain Records is excited to bring EL PUEBLO DEL SOL  back into the marketplace, newly remastered by Digital Outland under  the composer’s supervision. EL PUEBLO DEL SOL can still be viewed today in select IMAX theatres that feature dome screens.


1. Fiesta Del Sol (Festival of the Sun) (3:56)
2. Latir de Progresso 
(Pulse of Progress) (1:11)
3. Paisajes (Landscapes) (6:54)
• Haciendas
• Naturaleza (Nature)
• Industria (Industry)
4. Culturas Antiguas (Ancient Cultures) (2:58)
5. Mosaico Turístico (Mosaic of Tourism) (3:49)
6. Sueños (Dreams) (1:47)
7. Interludio (Interlude) (1:37)
8. Orígines (Origins) (6:33)
9. Estampas Históricas
(Historic Moments) (2:41)
• La Independencia (Independence)
• Intervenciones Extranjeras
(Foreign Interventions)
• El Porfiriato - Vals (The Era of Porfirio - Waltz)
10. La Gran Tenochtitlan (3:29) (Includes excerpts of “Huapango” 
by José Pablo Moncayo)
11. Cuadro Final (Final Scene) (7:23)
• Cielos Misteriosos (Mysterious Skies)
• Serenata Nostálgica (Nostalgic Serenade)
• Allegro Vigoroso (Vigorous Allegro)
• Fiesta Del Sol
Total Time: 40:00